Securing your security deposit when moving is something you don’t want to take lightly. Your security deposit is a substantial amount of funds that your landlord has the right to withhold if you violate the lease agreement. 

We’re going to run down what you need to do make sure the property owner returns the deposit, so that everyone leaves content. 

Secure Your Security Deposit When Moving by Cleaning and Repairing

The reason property owners request a security deposit when moving in is to protect the apartment or condominium. These funds are withheld when moving out to address substantial damages to the property that aren’t a result of regular living wear and tear. 

After moving your belongings out, do a walkthrough of the living space. If you discover any paint chipping, holes in the wall, or other damages, make a note of it. Take the time to address any repairs or patchwork that’s necessary to get the apartment back to the way it was when you moved in. 

Even if you’ve managed to avoid damaging anything, take the time to scrub and clean everything. Hopefully you remembered to document the condition of the rental when you first moved in. Ideally, the landlord will recognize the clean living space and return the tenant security deposit. If issues arise, offer proof of the unchanged condition and go from there. 

Make Sure to Read Your Lease

Each lease has varying agreements and terminology. In some cases, your security deposit may count as your last month’s rent. As long as the rental unit is in satisfactory condition, you won’t need to pay an additional sum. You can avoid unpaid rent problems by verifying the contract.

Otherwise, you’ll pay your last month’s rent as normal, and your landlord will need to return the deposit. Most states require that property owners return your deposit within an appropriate time frame.

Security Deposit Laws

Montana security deposit laws state that the landlord must return the deposit within 30 days of the tenant move, or within 10 days if none is utilized for repairs. 

Idaho state law dictates that landlords have 21 days to return the security deposit. This duration may be altered so long as both parties in agreement. The owner also has the right to withhold the deposit if there is improper notice of moving or if you break your lease early.

Finally, Utah law indicates that landlords must provide written notice and an itemized list when any amount of the deposit will be withheld. Landlords have 30 days to return the deposit, or 15 days after receiving the tenant’s forwarding address, whichever is later. 

If your landlord fails to uphold these security deposit laws, they may be subject to pay your entire deposit plus court fees for small claims court. 

Always Take Preventative Measures When Moving into Rentals

You can always make the process easier by protecting yourself first. Document the condition of your rental prior to the move. Try to avoid altering the paint, putting holes in the wall, or changing anything that will require repairing later. 

Also, stay in communication with your landlord and document anything that isn’t a result of your action. Be sure to pay your rent and fees on time as well. Having well-documented, or even photographed proof of everything is the best way to protect yourself from any potential issues. 

Complete That Next Move with InterWest Moving

When it comes time to move to your next home or rental, call on InterWest Moving. We handle moves of any kind within the United States or abroad. Meeting your needs is what we do, and your satisfaction is our number one goal. 

Contact us today to request your free moving quote! An agent will be in touch with you by phone shortly to discuss your future plans and help you with every step along the way.